Bare Escentuals bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Gel Cream

Standard

orig

 

Just before we went away on our latest holiday I was in Boots checking out the various products. While browsing the Bare Minerals counter the young lady there offered me a chance to try their new foundation and applied this on to my face to colour match me. After this she gave me a few samples to try at home for myself. I took these away with me as they were flat and light and had an SPF in them which would protect my face even when I forgot to apply any sun protection.

~~~***~~~ABOUT BARE MINERALS ~~~***~~~

I have to admit I have tried a few of their products but as they are quite expensive I have baulked at actually buy any so far.

Their slogan is “ Be Original, Be Natural, Be Good” which I like as it says a lot in very few words.

Bare Minerals is part of the Bare Escentuals family which includes Buxom and MD Formulations, neither of which I have heard of before. They are in turn under the umbrella of Shiseido . The company is based in San Francisco and their products are based on natural minerals .

I am also happy to know that this company are cruelty free and not just “Unless the country laws require testing” they are genuinely cruelty free.

orig

~~~***~~~PACKAGING ~~~***~~~

My samples came in foil sachets each holding 0.75ml of the product which was plenty for two applications on my face I found.

The full sized version holds 35 ml and comes in an upside down plastic tube – it stands on its lid so that the contents are down where you want them even when I gets emptier . I like these tubs as I have discovered that if you cut the end off with scissors when I is “empty” I can still get around five or six extra uses from the tubes. I just cover the end with cling wrap at that stage!

The tube can be recycled through any plastic recycling scheme.

~~~***~~~ ETHICS ~~~***~~~

As I mentioned before this is a cruelty free company and this is their statement which I have checked with various animal rights sits and have found to be correct :
“Please feel at ease when using bareMinerals products as we do not test any products on animals. We also do not work with any manufacturers that do animal testing.
bareMinerals natural haired brushes are made of Goat and Pony. Please note that no animals are harmed in the process of making our brushes. For our customers who chose not to use animal haired brushes we do offer a variety of high end synthetic brushes.”

They do not use child labour at all either or do business with any company that does.

I cannot find any information about their use of recycled materials or if they are energy conscious in manufacture.

~~~***~~~ ABOUT THIS PRODUCT~~~***~~~

This comes in sixteen shades and the one I was colour matched as best for me was “Natural 05” and I have found it really is a great match and is almost invisible whilst at the same time giving my skin a naturally even tone.

This is one of those great combination products as it is not only giving the skin moisturiser but is also keeping it hydrated and giving a simple natural looking foundation as well. It is a BB cream, a CC and a tinted moisturiser all in one so perfect for those who do not ant to spend hours applying make up.

This product is made with: “olive-derived squalane, marine botanicals, hydrating humectants trehalose and glycerin, and coconut-derived ingredients to replenish, hydrate, nourish and condition. While unique water-encapsulations give skin that instant burst of hydration.”

IMG_2850[1]

~~~&&&~~~ MY EXPERIENCE AND VIEWS ~~~***~~~

I don’t like heavy foundations and usually opt for a BB or CC cream as I find they keep my skin hydrated and do give a decent coverage or balance out uneven skin tones quite well. I do also use a mineral based powder when my T zone gets a bit greasy in summer but I don’t layer on a thick undercoat at all. I wanted something simple and quick to use while on holiday as my husband likes to get going and out and about early so we miss nothing!

The young lady applied this with their special complexion brush but I used my fingers while we were away but I do sometimes use a special make up sponge when at home as it does blend it better than fingers.

I found that I did still cleanse tone and apply a bt of moisturiser which I did before breakfast then applied this hen we can back to our hotel room after breakfast before I cleaned my teeth. I did sometimes mix some sun protection into the moisturiser if we were going out on sunny days but this does have SPF30 which does mean a small amount of protection which is handy.

I liked that this was so smooth and creamy to apply and that a little gave me a decent level of coverage. As it so closely matched my skin colour I really didn’t need to use much at all. I have five samples and these gave me round 10 to 12 days of use which I thought as excellent. By that sort of reckoning a 35 ml tube should give you at least 70 days but it dos depend of how much you personally want to use in order to get the depth of coverage you want.

The temperatures were pretty hot where we were and at times my face did get a bit shiny so I did apply a bit of extra powder to absorb the shine but apart from that this product stayed put and lasted me all day long.

If you were wanting to go out at night then I would suggest a re application but we are past night clubbing and we find that in America and Canada dressing up to go out to eat is not something they do unless you are going very high end and we don’t go high end especially since the £ has dropped in value so much! I applied this in the morning and cleansed my face at night before bed.

The young lady who applied the test product in Boots a that this was the only mae up that you could seep in and nit damage your skin. I didn’t test that claim as I always cleanse my face before bed but this might be useful to those who live it up at night ad are too tired after a night out to cleanse their skin.

IMG_2851[1]

The nice thing about this product is that you can layer it to give a sheer to a deeper coverage so suits those who like a full coverage as well as those like me who prefer a lighter coverage. Obviously if you want a deeper coverage you will use more product and by using the special foundation brush you can blend it into different parts of your face s maybe you get a deeper coverage on your T zone and less on your cheeks or you cn apply a bit more over any skin blemish to cover that too.

Apparently they found that there was an average 215% increase in skin hydration after just one week in an independent U.S. clinical study of 62 participants. I never know what to make of these studies as I am not sure who they measure this or if I is just the participant’s observations so I take this with a pinch of salt.

I was happy with how this felt, lasted and looked on my face. I would buy this and might well do when I have finished some of the many bits and samples as well as full sized products I seem to have collected.

~~~***~~~ WHERE TO BUY AND PRICE ~~~***~~~

I found this in Boots and they sell the 35 ml tube for £27 Bare Minerals site has it for £28 and I suspect postage is extra. Debenhams and House of Fraser also have it for £28 while Escentual.com sells it for £23.80 with, I suspect extra for postage.

I feel that is a fair price for a high quality, natural product that is both pleasant to use and effective and does what it promises.IMG_2852[1]

~~~***~~~ RECOMMENDED?~~~***~~~

Yes I found this to be a decent quality and effective moisturising foundation which suited me as I don’t want a thick coverage. It matched my skin perfectly and should imagine with 16 shades most skin tones would be served well. There are certainly some very pale, almost alabaster ones and others pretty dark – one called Sienna looks to be fairly dark but as you can go and test it in store I would suggest doing that before buying.

Leave a Reply

