Weleda Calendula Toothpaste

Standard

en_calendula_toothpaste_rgb-mediumI first used this product after getting a tube in a goodie bag from a Weleda open day fr bloggers that I was invited to. I have mixed feelings about fluoride in toothpastes and do rather yo yo between them.

My dentist told me I should use a toothpaste with extra fluoride in it as my teeth are not great ad have weak enamel. When my children were very young I lived in Australia and we were encouraged to give our little ones fluoride tablets which I duly did. My daughter’s teeth are fine but my son’s teeth though strong are quite discoloured as a result and he has had to have then sorted as an adult at some expense.

~~~~~~ ABOUT WELEDA AND ANTHROPOSOPHICAL MEDICINE ~~~~~~

Many people know Weleda for their baby creams and body and face creams but they were originally a natural pharmaceutical company and indeed when Rudolph Steiner started the company in Austria in 1921 that was his focus. Weleda’s products are created using the principles of principles of anthroposophic medicine. This is a holistic approach based on products made using ingredients grown in balance and harmony with nature.

“A medical system that complements conventional medicine, anthroposophy takes a holistic approach and uses both conventional and anthroposophic medicinal products……. The therapy method of anthroposophic medicine is based on the balance between four organisational principles: the physical level; life forces level, or vitality; mental level and individual level or ego. The goal of therapy is to restore the necessary equilibrium when these four principles are out of balance.”

calendula

~~~~~~~~ WELEDA AND THEIR IDEALS ~~~~~~~

Welda use only natural products and most are organic. They source their products from around the world and pay above fair prices for their ingredients.

They use no preservatives, parabens or any mineral based ingredients in their products. Thy do not test on animals or allow any of their ingredients to be tested on them either.

“Whether it’s through fair trade, biodynamic cultivation or the supportive development of our employees – sustainability is part of our roots.”

~~~~~~~ WELEDA AND PACKAGING ~~~~~~~

Weleda is committed to reducing packaging as much as possible but that has to be balanced with creating packing that gets the product to the consumer in good condition and that keeps it in good condition. They are constantly working on packaging solutions but they aim to create packaging manufactured from sustainable materials and be recyclable once its packaging life is over.

img_72471

They are also working to reduce their energy usage and use as much renewable energy as possible.
50.7% of their direct energy and 94.3% of the indirect energy used in Weleda factories came from renewable resources in 2013.

This toothpaste comes in a cardboard outer box and inside the tube is metal. Both are in an orange colour to suit the calendula name of the product. The metal tube is okay but quite heavy and sometimes if you squeeze careless ly it can end up crooked and crumpled and has occasionally cracked along a crease which is annoying. Weleda have changed some of their products in tubes to recyclable plastic but not sure if this one is due for a change or not. The plastic is lighter so makes it more eco to transport.

~~~~~~~~~ WELEDA TOOTHPASTES ~~~~~~

Welda have arange of toothpaste but as yet I have only used the Calendula one but as I do like this I think I will try the others in the future. There are for different 75 ml toothpaste which all cost £4.50 per tube. There is the Ratanhia which is root from Peru and has calming myrrh and refreshing essential oils of peppermint and spearmint, with calcium- based cleansers . The next is Salt toothpaste which has sea salt, extracts of ratanhia root, myrrh and chestnut bark as well as oil of peppermint . Next we have Plant gel toothpaste which is their most gentle toothpaste and this has extracts of myrrh and chamomile , silica to gently clean without damaging enamel and peppermint and spearmint essential oils for freshness, and ratanhia root extract . Finay we have the Calendula one I will be reviewing here.

There is also a children’s tooth gel which comes in a 50 ml tub and costs £3.50. This is very gentle and designed for first teeth. Like the adult version this also has extracts of organic calendula flowers , silica and natural flavours of fennel and spearmint. There is nothing harmful so it doesn’t matter if children swallow it and like the other Weleda toothpastes it has no fluoride either.img_72481

~~~~~~MY EXPERIENCE OF WELEDA CALENDULA TOOTHPASTE ~~~~~

I wasn’t at all sure what a calendula based toothpaste would taste like as calendula flowers have an odd sort of taste/fragrance in my view but I need no have worried as this tastes of fennel or licorice so as long as you like that flavour you will find this quite pleasant. I found it odd at first not to have a minty fresh after taste in my mouth but you do get used to it and for people who hate the taste of mint this is a perfect alternative.

When I was living in Australia I use a lot of homeopathic medicines and if you are using these you need to ensure you are using an all natural toothpaste. I really struggled to find any in Australia at the time and eventually found an Aussie brand in a health food store. This toothpaste would be perfect it is free of any peppermint and has a pleasant and fresh-tasting fennel flavour and is 100% natural and indeed suitable for vegans too.

In all Weleda products all ingredients are there to do something useful and beneficial to the body. This calendula toothpaste every ingredient contributes towards fresh breath. The calendula is anti-inflammatory and helps to soothe sensitive gums. The calcium mineral provides the scrubbing ingredient and is gently abrasive while the natural essential fennel oil ha a nice fresh, pleasant licorice like taste.

The toothpaste is a lot less abrasive than most high street brands and certainly doesn’t tingle in your mouth like some minty fresh ones do. It feels creamier on the teeth and doesn’t froth up like most commercial brands. I find that when using a Colgate toothpaste for example my mouth is so full of froth that I end up feeling like I have a mouth full of suds!

I use an electric toothbrush and find that this toothpaste is great when using that but with a normal toothbrush I do kind of feel that I need to brush a bit more but maybe that is because I have used commercial brands for many years so I was used to a more abrasive tooth brushing experince.img_72491

This has been certified as natural dental care and is also free of sugar, artificial sweeteners, surfactants, synthetic preservatives, flavours, colourants, or raw materials derived from mineral oils.

I clean my teeth at night last thing before bed and after my breakfast every day but also after lunch if I feel like my teeth are feeling furry or my mouth tastes not very fresh. Weleda say use this regularly to avoid plaque build up and helps to keep gums healthy and your mouth and breath fresh .

The actual paste is not white but a more cream coloured thicker paste than most toothpastes. I like the flavour and the fact that it doesn’t fill my mouth with froth. It does kind of tingle in my mouth in the same way as some tooth and gum numbing powders and gels do but very subtly.

Although this is a bit more expensive that many brands of toothpaste as it is an all natural product from a company with high ethical standards that does not test on animals and pays its supplies fairly I am happy to pay for this product.

~~~~~~~~ WHERE THIS CAN BE BOUGHT ~~~~~~~

I usually buy mine either from the Weleda website or from their shop in Ilkeston which is in Derbyshire or from other natural beauty or heath websites if I want to make up an order to the amount needed for free shipping.

Weleda also have wellness advisers who can sell you products. They will do a party to demonstrate the products and you can ask for specific things such as products for the body or baby products etc as the theme if you want to. They are all very well informed and can advise on the benefits of each product. My step daughter has a friend who is an adviser and I also order from her or a small health shop in our local town also stocks Weleda products so I have no problem buying any of their products.

~~~~~~ RECOMMENDED? ~~~~~~~~

Yes I would indeed. It is pleasant tasting ( provided you like fennel) and is effective to use leaving my mouth feeling tingly fresh and clean. It is a bit more expensive but I don’t find it gets used any quicker than other toothpastes so for the fact it is 100% natural and everyone involved in creating this has been paid fairly for their contribution I feel the price is fair.

Leave a Reply

