Lush Rose Queen bath ballistic

Standard

Rose Queen bath ballistics in Lush

Now I’m not a great bath ballistic fan on the whole despite my true addiction to Lush. In my humble opinion these are a fun product and apart from giving off a little scent they soften the water and give a fun fizz as they dissolve but that is about the extent of it. However knowing my passion for all things Lush I do tend to get given gifts of Lush items and as these look good and are a bit if fun they are often popped into my birthday or Christmas or Mother’s Day presents from my various family members.

This one was part of my Birthday present trawl and for a month or so it has been residing in my jumper drawer sharing its lovely smell with my clothes. I keep all my lush stuff in my clothes drawers as I get the extra benefit of drawer freshening before I actually use the product. It does add to the excitement as I often find something I had forgotten I had hidden in the depths in my drawers. So it can be a bonus as I find an exciting soap or bubble bar or a bath ballistic in this case and finding it has been like receiving it a second time as a present , a bit like finding a pound coin in a coat or jacket you haven’t worn for a while!

rose queen

My Rose queen bath ballistic

WHAT DOES IT LOOK LIKE?
Often the bath ballistics come in different fun shapes but this is pretty well a round tennis ball sized ballistic in a pure pretty pink colour with nothing outside at all. So it isn’t one of the more exciting looking ones really but it does smell very true to a real rose, not like the Rose Jam which smells sweeter like a rose scented dessert.

DOES IT SMELL GOOD?
It smells truly rose like an old fashioned rose in an English country garden and not at all false or overwhelmingly scented at all. There are other floral notes in this ballistic including tiger lily and amaranth flowers, larkspur and I have to admit that this are pretty subtle as the main scent is distinctly rosy.

WHAT LUSH SAY:
If you are “looking for a less serious more playful rose bath? Well this is the one. Instead of serious romantic adult thoughts – this is a run through a rose garden, with your hands brushing the tops of the bushes.
The scent is a light floral rosy accord, of rose absolute and geranium with amber notes of rock rose.  The bathwater has a rosy pink glow with a sprinkling of tigerlily, apple blossom and larkspur petals adrift on the surface.
Mo says this is a return to her old style ballistics; for times when you want nothing but an escape to simpler times of flowers, nature and innocent simplicity.”

THE STORY BEHIND THIS ONE:

No packaging – it comes just in the little yellow paper bags

Mark, the Lush boss was invited to the annual parish church festival in the vaillage where he grew up. While he was there he met the vicar who was wearing ‘Breathe of God’ fragrance ( a very modern vicar I would say) and his daughter then arrived wearing ‘Imogen Rose’ fragrance which is one of my favourites too. Mark was so overcome that he returned to the lab and invented this ballistic to mark the event.

INTO THE BATH:
As this costs £2.50 for a 95g ballistic I think to just get one bath from it is VERY expensive so being a cheap skate I break mine into at least two maybe three if I can. They are actually quite hard to break and I have to put them in a plastic bag and them either bang them with a rolling pin or drop them hard onto the ceramic tiled floor. I don’t think I am alone as I see on Ebay people selling crushed up ones in bulk deals.

I got about a half of this ballistic as it seems quite small, I think they must be shrinking or my eyes are deceiving me and drop it into the bath away from the running tap I find allows it to fizz slowly and release the scents best. This is was pink on the outside and throughout the entire ballistic the colour remained pink but there were petals of various flowers dried within the bomb. The bath water then became a beautiful pale pink colour but clear not cloudy at all and the smell given off was pure rose and deep but gentle and not false at all . I do like rose scent as it reminds me not only of my garden in the summer which is full of rose blossoms but also of our visit to the area in Morocco known for its rose oil and I had a ball in the shops there testing their stuff.

It is nice watching the ballistic fizz its way around the bath and the water changing colour while you breathe in the lovely rosy aroma.

As I get in I do enjoy the feeling of softness in the water and lie back to enjoy the subtle rosy smelling lushness. As this is really only a scented water softener I do use soap as well but lie and enjoy the bath for a few minutes before I get around to the washing and cleaning business of the bath. I am not convinced about the dried floral bits in the bath but as I fished them out and smelled they did each smell quite strong so I lay back and enjoyed them pretending to be someone from way back lying in a bath scented by rose petals.

AFTER THE BATH:
Once again as with all these sort of products I make sure that I rinse the bath out after I have used it as it does tend to leave a colour residue and a soapy feeling in the bath if I forget. However my husband followed me into this bath last night (we save water this way and as we bathe twice a day I don’t feel it is a bad thing) and he didn’t bother washing the bath out so when i went into the bathroom in the morning the scent was really strong and my bath had petals all over the bottom. Luckily they hadn’t stained and they quickly swilled down the plug hole.

WHAT DO I THINK THEN?
The scent stayed for a while on my skin and I also used a little Ro’s Argan on my arms too which made the scent really lovely. I also noticed that then I went down stairs and then came back up that the scent was filling not only the bathroom but also our bedroom too which I did like. When I have used it in our main bathroom the scent gets carried all through that side of the house so they are wonderful air fresheners too. Also the next day the bathroom smelled lovely too when I went in and found the bath with the flower petals decorating it.

My skin didn’t feel especially dry nor did it feel like it was particularly moisturised either. I still put my usual body lotion on but I do that anyway so it was not really a problem.

ARE THERE ANY UNPLEASANT INGREDIENTS?
Surely not, this is Lush after all but you might be surprised to find that Lush, although I am one of their biggest fans is not perfect. This one seems to not have any of the nasty ingredients found in some of their products which I am pleased to see. There are no bubbles so there is no need for any surfactants and the sodium bicarbonate is for softening water and is good for calming skin too. So top marks Lush.

SUMMARY
This is a grown up bit of fun to have a nicely scented bath. If you have any skin problems then you should be alright with this one but test first if unsure. I do have sensitive skin and some patches of eczema and I had no problems so obviously these aren’t the ingredients I am allergic too.
I quite liked this but not sure I would rush to buy it again as it is expensive for what you get and I actually prefer bubble bars to bath ballistics.

So I would recommend if you like rose scent and do not want bubbles and if you don’t mind bits in your bath either.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 06/19/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

