The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum-in-Oil

Standard

 

Last week I was in Derby having a pamper day. I had a hair cut and my nails gelished. As I was walking back to my car which was parked at the other end of town I passed the Body shop. I park there as it costs £2.70 for the day which is so much cheaper than parking in the Westfield centre where it costs that for an hour.

I can’t resist having a quick peek and I had already visited Lush and gained a couple of soap samples so in I went to have a test of some hand creams and sniff some products.
They had an offer of your choice of three samples in return for a donation to the teenage cancer trust. I chose this and a couple of other samples. The sample was pretty generous, certainly more so that the sachets I sometimes get in my beauty boxes. This was full and the little pot held about 10 ml I would say.

WHAT BODY SHOP SAY

Soya

“Wake up to beautiful skin with new Vitamin E Overnight Serum-In-Oil, a technical innovation combining the power of a serum and oil to indulge, replenish and recharge skin with moisture overnight.
• 8h beauty sleep for your skin
• Skin feels recharged, replenished and softer
• Skin looks fresher, rested and more radiant
• Our highest concentration of wheatgerm oil
• Non-greasy, fast-absorbing formula “

MY VIEWS
I was actually quite impressed with the price of this for a serum. For the small 28 ml bottle you pay around £12 which is a lot less than many serums around. However if it is cheap does it work as well? It is always hard to judge these things as it is a bit subjective. The lines are realistically NOT going to disappear now, they are here to stay and will inevitable get worse as I get older but what I am hoping for is to delay the inevitable.
Unfortunately when I was younger and living in Australia I probably didn’t look after my skin as well as I should have so I am desperately making up for it now.
This is a clear slightly gel like serum which smell lovely sweet and fresh. It goes on so easily and is very quickly sucked into my skin leaving it feeling slightly tighter, firm and not at all greasy or oily, quite matt in fact.
I was quite surprised at how matt the effect was considering this is a Vitamin E serum with oil but the oils in it must be very light and quickly absorbed. The oils in this serum are wheat germ oil, Sunflower and Jojoba oils and it also contains Marula, Sesame and Soya oils from Community Fair Trade farmers . So lots of lovely oils to feed your skin and keep it healthy.

Marula fruit

HOW TO USE
According to Body shop:
“Apply a few drops in the palm of your hands and gently rub together to warm. Apply on the face and the neck with a gentle patting motion. Using fingertips, massage in small circular movements over forehead, cheeks, around mouth and chin area.”

Well I kind of do that but I just dipped my fingers in my pot then gentle massaged it over my face, I can;’ see the patting motion spreading the stuff for me and I don’t let it drag my skin so I will continue with the massage method.

INGREDIENTS

There are lots of lovely good ingredients in this but I fear there are others which are not so great. I am not going to list all the ingredients but some do cause me concern and they are mainly the fragrance ingredients. Now although I said I liked the smell of this I would prefer it smelled of natural ingredients rather than non natural ones. To be truthful I would prefer no scent if it meant no artificial ingredients. Now some artificial ingredients are harmless but some are questionable.

DSCF5226

sesame seeds

MY FEELINGS ABOUT BODY SHOP

I rather went off Body shop when they sold out to L’oreal and I know that they do sometimes test on animals. They cannot do this in Europe but they have recently bought a Chinese beauty company and in China the government requires such trials for every new beauty product.

The Body Shop products cannot be sold in China as they do still stand by the non animal testing ethic but it is a bit tricky when they are owned by L’Oreal to separate the two in my mind.
China is the only major market where companies must test their mascaras and lotions on animals. Even India has recently banned animal testing . What we need is the Chinese population to fight against animal testing but the fear of reprisals against protestors is too great.

RECOMMENDED?

I will leave the ethics question up to you to research further but as a product I would recommend this.

It is good value compared to some of the premium brands like Clinique and to be truthful having tried them both I would choose this one over the Clinique one any day. They seem to do about the same to my skin and this is far cheaper and actually feels nicer and smells pleasant too.

It is easy to apply and works to make my skin feel better in itself and look better and it also feels nice to touch too. I would buy this again.

One response »

Leave a Reply

