Caudalie Divine Oil

Standard

Caudalie Divine OIl

I buy a lot of samples and get freebies through various different beauty sites that I write reviews for. My daughter also buys me subscriptions to different beauty boxes at different events such as mother’s Day and birthdays during the year. I cannot remember where I got this from but as I recently finished it I thought I should review it.

This is a rather unusual oil in that it can be used for many things. According to Caudalie this can be used on you face, body and even on your hair. You can apply it neat or pop it in the bath or use it to ask someone to give you a massage (chance would be a fine thing)

Sesame seeds

I have recently had a few face oils from various sites and I use them all in the same way. The guys from Lush told me that if you apply your oil, serum or even moisturiser after a spritz of your gentle toner then you use far less with the same result as it traps in the moisture as spreads more easily and evenly without dragging your skin at all.

None of the face oils I have used have been cheap and this is no exception as it costs around £18 for 50ml . In fact this is cheaper than many of the others so in terms of value this is pretty good for an all round oil.

According to Caudalie this oil:
“Caudalie Divine Oil is a unique alchemy of exceptional oils (grape, argan, hibiscus and sesame) and to our patented anti-oxidant polyphenols “

Using it on my face:

I did exactly as I always do and applied a little after spraying with my lovely Lush toner. It left my face feeling soft and also not tight and in the minutes after the oil sank in and left my face not feeling greasy at all.

On my body:

Sadly no one offered to massage me so I did what I usually do with body oils and applied this as I got out of the shower or bath, I dripped off and dried myself a little and while still pretty damp I applied the oil to the dries parts of my body. This way I use a lot less as it traps in the moisture. I was a little more generous with my knees and legs as they seem to get very dry.

argan nuts

I tended to do this at night so if any oil did get onto my clothes it was only night wear and it wouldn’t matter too much. In the morning my skin felt nice and looked not at all parched.

In the bath:
I only did this once as it seemed a bit of a waste. It made the bath water quite pleasant and added a bit of a gentle scent but in truth I prefer bath melt for that kind of bath. It was okay but not terrible exciting or deeply scented.

On my hair;

I used this on my wet , towel dried hair as I do have quite dry hair. I like argan oil and have used a variety of hair oils. I found this made my hair feel soft and nice once dried but didn’t add any scent like some do. It did a good job and I was happy to use it in this way.

Cuticles and hands:
I have my nails gelished once a month and so don’t treat my hands to much in between but I do try and hand cream them and give my cuticles a bit of a treatment to keep them soft. I rubbed this oil into my cuticles every few days and it did keep them looking soft and supple. It also gave my hands a nice moisturising too as it spread as I rubbed it into my nails.

I can’t say what it smells of, it is pleasant and slightly sweet but very subtle. This is not one you would buy for its obvious scent and hence me not using it in the bath more than the once.

Packaging:
Mine came in a glass bottle which is of course fully recyclable and also does not react with the oils inside as some plastics do but be very careful when using it on ceramic tiled floors as of course glass is breakable.

NOT SO GREAT

I have discovered that Caudalie now sell products in China and because of that they test on animals their products sold there which does rather put me off buying any further products from them. I have several more samples of their to use but won’t be buying any full sized products while they choose to sell to China and test on animals.

 

hibiscus

RECOMMENDED?

Yes I would say it is a good all round oil and it is not a bad price compared to some others I have used. It seems to be a fairly natural based product though some ingredients have interesting names. The ingredients are all listed on websites so you can check for yourself.

This is a good quality product. It kept my face and body well moisturised without being excessively greasy. It was great on my hands and knees too. I have had no adverse reaction after using it despite having sensitive skin.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

