Caudalie Hand and Nail Cream

Standard

Caudalie-Hand-Nail-Cream

I write reviews on different beauty sites and enjoy buying samples and trying new products. My daughter knows this and she has bought me a couple of beauty boxes for different gifts over the year. The advantage of buying these sample sizes and getting the beauty boxes is that you get to try products that you probably would not want to risk spending a lot on just in case they turned out to be rubbish.

I have had a few products from Caudalie over the year and this is another which I quite liked. Prior to getting these samples I had never heard of this company and therefore knew nothing about them. They are obviously trying to get into the British market as I have had at least five products of their this year in the different boxes and from the sample sites. The site I buy a lot from is ‘latestinbeauty’ which may be connected with ‘You’ and the daily Mail as they often have their Advent calender’ on sale. I have just checked and this site has three different sample or sample packs from Caudalie at present. Anyone can order if you want to try them

Oranges

When I say samples, some of the products are very small sachets while others are full sized products. This come in between as it was a 30ml tube so more than a sample but not a huge tube. My hand cream doesn’t have a scent name that I can see but smells of orange and almond to me.

The tube is kind of silver and is plastic and mine has a green label on the front. I like the fact that it can stand on the lid as it makes it easy to get out the cream. When I get near the end I even cut my tubes open sometimes and it often gives me an extra week of use. Waste not want not I feel. The tube can be recycled in the usual plastic recycling.

I like the fact that this has 98% natural ingredients. Caudalie state that they do not use parabens, phenoyethanol, phthalates, mineral oils, SLS or indeed any ingredients of animal origins.

The cream is quite soft and I like the smell as it is fresh and subtle, not too overpowering. I am not keen on hand creams that are too strong and have people around you looking at you as you apply it. I always carry hand cream In my handbag as my hands get very dry in winter. I pop a little on after I wash my hands when out and about. I also don’t like it when I can smell what is on my hands when I am eating so a subtle pleasant mildly orange scent is fine with me.

This cream is full of nice natural stuff such as organic fair trade shea butter which I love as it smells gorgeously nutty in its raw form. It also has omega-6-rich grapeseed oil which helps repair the skin and helps with anti ageing. Caudalie have a special ingredient called ‘Vinolevure’ which sounds like it comes from avocado they way they describe it and they say is good for retaining natural moisture in the skin but I have never heard of it so it must be a French speciality!

Almonds

According to their website this is :
A pleasurable nourishing and anti-oxidant treatment with a fresh sweet orange pulp voluptuous fragrance softened by almond powder and a drop of rosewater.”

I have had a L’Occitane rose one in my bag for a while and when that finished this replaced it. Prior to that I had a Lush ‘Helping hands’ solid one which was great until it melted somewhere hot! This was a perfect size to pop in my bag and didn’t leak either as the lid was pretty firm.

The cream I found absorbed quite wll and didn’t leave me with greasy hands. I only needed a small tooth paste/pea sized sort of amount to give my hands a decent feed. I find a little is better than too much as you can always add more if needed.

One of the things I do when waiting in traffic is apply a bit of hand cream so it is vital that it goes in quickly and doesn’t leave my hands greasy or slippery just in case traffic start moving again. I find sitting in traffic boring and look for things to fill in the time and this is better than eating sweets for my hips!

I am a bit of a clean hands freak too and carry hand sanitizer in my bag. After visiting my Homestart families I always come out and use the sanitiizer before I set off in my car. This does dry my hands out a bit so this is why when traffic stops I get out the hand cream!

The price of this Caudalie handcream seems quite reasonable for a quality product. It is not as cheap as those you can buy in supermarkets or the pound shop but for a product that is a natural based one it is a pretty fair price. The price on line varies as always so shop around but it varies from around £6 upwards for the same sized tube.

RECOMMENDED?

Yes I liked this one. It is similar to L’Occitane in its creaminess but not nearly as thick as Body Shop’s Hemp one is so if you like a very thick hand cream this one may not suit you. The positive thing is that it soaks in quickly and doesn’t leave your hands greasy and slippery but they are soft and well ‘fed’ and smells pleasantly orangey too.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

