Lush Let The Good Times Roll

Standard

Let the Good times Roll

This was brought out specifically for Christmas last year 2012 and it was so popular that Lush agreed to let it stay and become a regular. It is similar to my favourite Lush facial cleansers ‘Angels on Bare skin’ but instead of having the exfoliating ingredient of ground almonds this has ground corn or maize. I will never stop buying ‘Angels’ but this one now alternates with ‘Angels’ as part of my cleansing routine for my face as i try and save it from aging too fast.

Since I have been using either one or other of Lush’s lovely natural cleansers and exfoliators regularly I have found that my skin on my face is far more balanced than before.

Let the Good times Roll

I usually choose Lush products for older, dry and lined skin as I am of that age and so when I was in Lush asking advice on which cleanser to buy but I was tempted by this one when I saw it . I asked for a sample but after trying it I bought a pot then when they had the half price sale after Christmas I bought another because I had given away quite a bit of mine to various family member in small sample pots so my original pot was getting low.

WHAT LUSH SAY
Fresh Cleanser
“A Maize In, gentle facial wash
We popped corn oil, polenta, maize flour and cinnamon in here. The perfect recipe to gently exfoliate, moisturise and soften your skin for those times when you want to get ready for close-ups.
Let The Good Times Roll is a gentle treat for the skin, leaving you soft to the touch with a lingering buttery caramel popcorn fragrance – when you look and feel this good you can give your Body Double the day off..”

MY EXPERIENCE
This fresh cleanser is a rich buttery colour and smells absolutely lovely, a bit like a custard cream biscuit only stronger. It looks like a thick deep custard coloured mix, a bit like polenta uncooked. It feels slightly sandy in texture but very fine and there are the odd bits of pop corn visible in the mix so presumably some of the maize is b ground un popped and some popped.

The feel is slightly sandy as I said but damp, a bit like the polenta mix un cooked and it is easy to take a pea sized piece, squash it in your hand with your finger and make a paste with some water then use this to gently massage into your face before rinsing off with warm water.
This usually costs £5.95 for a pot and the usual thing applies if you buy this in the black pot, if you wash it and return five of them you can choose a free fresh mask or hair mask which I think is a great incentive to encourage people not to just throw these pots away.

As I said this fresh cleanser is designed for those with normal or dry skin but can really be used by anyone as it is suitable for all skin types.

Smells like a custard cream

This cleanser like the other fresh facial cleansers is preservative free and Vegan friendly and is full of quality natural ingredients. I love the smell of this as the maize and other ingredients combine to smell gloriously vanilla caramel custard- like.
HOW DOES IT HELP MY SKIN?
This face cleanser exfoliator is created from ground maize flour, polenta, corn oil,and lovely cinnamon which is great for stimulating the skin. The ingredients exfoliate, stimulate and nourish the skin perfectly, naturally and gently.
As my skin tends to be a bit sensitive I try not to treat it too harshly and this is just perfect. It exfoliates with gentle ground maize and polenta which do not dry the skin and the corn oil nourishes the skin.

The cinnamon is great for cleaning and stimulating the face skin which also helps the skin balance the oil or sebum production.
The kaolin will help absorb excess grease. Exfolaiting helps to clear away dead, dry skin and leaves my face feeling and looking fresher and brighter.

Glycerine helps to soften the skin to make it ready to absorb the gentle oils .
The kaolin helps gets rid of excess oil on the skin’s surface. These ingredients all help the facial skin balance so that if you have a combination skin this is perfect. It will enable the dry areas to absorb the beneficial oils and reduce the oil on the greasier areas.

Let the Good Times Roll

Although this looks a abit like a yellow paste and not that least exciting it is a product that I will be buying again regularly as it is so good. It is not a harsh scrub at all it is actually quite a gentle exfoliant but even so do not rub your face while using this, just gently massage this over the oily parts of your face.
HOW TO USE THIS
The idea is that you take a small amount, just a bit bigger than a pea and put this in one hand. Add a little water and with a finger rub this into the palm of your hand until you have a softish paste . This wet soft paste is what you use to cleanse your face. I very gently, using just a little water rub this into my face in a circular and upward motion. You don’t need to rub hard just really gently massage your face with this and then rinse it off with warm, not hot water.

Once you have cleaned all the ‘Good Times Roll’ off your face you then pat your face dry. Once dry you need to finish the cleaning process off by applying a gentle toner so that you close the pores and stop any dirt getting in. You can then apply whatever moisturiser you think your face needs; finishing off with makeup if you want to apply some.

I find this does an excellent job of gently cleansing and exfoliating my entire face leaving it feeling soft and really lovely. I have been using this instead of ‘Angels’ at least three times a week since I bought it in November and I have never had any problems at all with any sensitive skin.

Scrubby bits of popcorn

Would I buy this again? Well yes and I have twice. I am so pleased that Lush have kept it as a regular after Christmas .This does such a wonderful job of gently exfoliating and cleansing my face without leaving it dry at all. A pot of this has lasted me about three months as I use it at least three times a week and I do also use it on my neck too.

I think I will always buy ‘Angels on Bare Skin’ as it smells lovely and I find it suits my skin perfectly. This however is also going to be a regular purchase for me and I will alternate the two cleansers.

I think if you have not tried any of Lush’s fresh face cleansers then I urge you to go and try them as they are all great. If you suffer from very greasy skin or from large open pores then I might try the ‘Dark Angels’ or ‘Herbalism’ instead. I suggest if you are intrigued by this then pop down to Lush as they have very knowledgeable staff who can advise on good skin care. Sometimes people with greasy and spot prone skin try so hard to almost dry out their skin with chemically based products and this often does more harm than good. Your skin needs some oil and what you need to do is help it balance its sebum/oil production. This one however works for all skin types and is especially good for those with dry skin or sensitive skin as it really does help balance my skin and I have not had any mini spot breakouts since using this and I did occasionally get them before.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

