Origins Plantscription Anti-aging serum

Standard

Plantscription anti aging serum

I was so delighted when our Boots in Derby opened an origins counter and since then I have bought quite a few of their products.

You may or may not be aware that Origins offer free facials to anyone if you book and this way you get to be pampered, try their products and come away with a few samples. They obviously want you to buy some but I usually either buy one item or make an excuse such as to say’ I will ask for it for my birthday or similar.’ I always come away with a few samples and have a really nice facial, even if it is in the shop. This was one of my freebies when I bought my ‘Eye Puffery’ when I last had a free facial.

Origins_bwORIGINS

Origins mission is” to create high performance natural skincare that is powered by nature and proven by science. (They) use potent plants, organic ingredients and 100% natural essential oils.” They also avoid the use of parabens, dyes and mineral oils in their products. On their website there is a lot of information about how they discover, and source their plant based ingredients and also about their ‘long-standing commitment to protect the planet, its resources and all those who populate it’. They are suitable for vegans and none of their products contain any animal ingredients nor are they tested on animals.

WHAT IS THIS STUFF?

This is a serum so you put this on prior to applying your usual day or night moisturiser. It is made using the power of some miracle plant ingredients and is designed to reduce lines and wrinkles. I is a strange sort of beige/brown liquid. It is thicker than a liquid but a lot thinner than a cream. It doesn’t have a lot of smell but doesn’t smell unpleasant either.

WHAT ORIGINS SAY ABOUT THIS
” Helps reduce the appearance of wrinkles.
Skin’s youthful look of bounce is improved.
Skin looks & feels smoother.
It starts with the vertical fret lines between your eyes, the stubborn furrows across your forehead and the tiny commas around your mouth. “Just tired,” you say – they’ll go away. Then suddenly they don’t.
Discover nature’s power plant. Developed over 5 years, this serum with Anogeissus helps bring a sigh of relief to the appearance of ageing skin. Without irritation. What will nature think of next!”
USING THIS

My15ml sample of the product came in a plastic upside down tube so that it stands on its lid and the product is down where the opening is. The plastic tube is recyclable and it also means that it is easy to get all the product out so there is no waste. The real full sized product comes in a plastic pump so you rely on the pump to get all the product out. My tube is white where the real thing is a dull green colour which is the colour they have chosen for their plantscription range.

The idea is that you squeeze a little of the creamy liquid out and gently massage this onto your face night and morning. They also suggest applying some to your neck area. After applying this apply your favourite moisturiser, they of course suggest their Origins ones but I am sure that doesn’t actually affect its work on the lines on the face.

Anogeissus flower

WHAT HAVE THEY PUT IN THIS?

The magic ingredient is this Anogeissus extract which is from the plant of that same name found in Ghana . The extract comes from the leaves and bark of the tree and is a natural healer and is antimicrobial. I have never heard of this but take their word for it as they have taken some years of research to create this serum.
MY EXPERIENCE

I used this for about two weeks under my moisturiser as instructed. It felt cool and was very quickly absorbed into my skin and left it feeling quite tight instantly. I can’t say that people have been commenting on how young I look having used it but I do like the way it makes my skin feel and I think the lines have been reduced a little but it is hard to tell.

There really is very little smell from this as I am using it and in fact prior to applying the moisturiser my skin feels quite nice, soft and smooth. I like the way it is gentle but effective and has not caused my any nasty reaction unlike some of the expensive serums I tried like Prevage from Elizabeth Arden.
I can’t say the fine lines have disappeared but if I keep using it they might gradually keep getting less visible or at least not get any deeper. It also makes my skin look fresher and less dull which is a big positive for me.

You can buy this from origins counters in a number of shops or on line or from Amazon but beware as Amazon can sometimes cost more and Origins offer extra bonuses when buying from them. This is not a cheap option as 30ml costs about £46 but I found that a little goes a long way . I didn’t realise quite how expensive it was and now am even more delighted with my 15ml sample as it is half the amount so would have cost £23.

RECOMMENDED?

Yes I would. I find this does a great job and my skin feels lovely after using it. However at that price it is very expensive so I am not sure I will be buying it at full price. I think I will have to go for another facial and see if I can get another sample!

One star off for the price!!

 

Leave a Reply

