Lush Dream Cream

Standard
Lush Dream cream

Lush Dream cream

WHAT LUSH SAY

Hello. Is it me you’re looking for?

Life partner for sensitive skin

Our number one Lush product.

A soothing and cooling cream that is designed to go on even the most sensitive and easily upset skins.

Can be used on any skin types.

An elegant, simple formula that contains only ingredients that are likely to help with hot, itchy skin..”

They say that this is designed to be for the most sensitive skins and includes yummy oat milk and other ingredients and essential oils that are known for their gentle skin improving and soothing properties. It is another of their older products and it is so popular that they have not been able to replace it or take it off the shelves.

WHAT IS IN THIS MAGIC CREAM?

lavender

Lavender

We add rose water to the oat milk and then olive oil, cocoa butter and vegetable glycerine. Then we have a blend of essential oils that we have developed over the years for their therapeutic effects on the skin; rose absolute, chamomile blue, tea tree and lavender..”

Okay so we have the wonderfully skin calming oat milk and many other products around are now using this ingredient including the Aveeno products. Oats contain avenanthramides which is a kind of antibiotic produced by the plant. Apparently they believe this acts as an antioxidant and this is possibly what helps sooth the skin. Oats in creams like this and in medicinal creams have been shown to be anti-inflammatory and to help relieve itchy, irritated skin. The oats have an antihistamine effect so help with allergic rashes and the like.

Cocoa butter we all know is a wonderful natural moisturiser and particularly good for relieving dry itchy skin. It also has a lovely subtle chocolate like scent.

Extra virgin olive oil has a subtle scent and is great for the skin as well. It is almost a wonder oil for skin because of all its antioxidant and It has a high vitamin E content which is also good for repairing skin. It is gentle, easy to apply leaving skin soft and silky. Taken from Lush’s website “ The oil’s active ingredients are vitamin E (a fat soluble antioxidant), oleic acid (omega 9 monounsaturated fatty acid), hydroxytyrosol (plant polyphenol) and squalene (an organic compound found in human sebum).”

Rose for rose water

Rose for rose water

Sadly they have also added  Methylparaben and Propylparaben  which Lush say are safe but have been questioned re their safety by many so I leave that one for you to decide for yourself how you feel.

MY EXPERIENCE

I love how this cream feels when I apply it as it is so soft, cool and gentle. It is very quickly absorbed but that doesn’t mean that it is not moisturising as my skin feels really nice, not greasy but soft and smooth and comfortable. My skin feels well nourished and pampered after I apply this.

The cream is not a heavy thick cream and is not greasy. It is a creamy colour and smells really lovely too. It has a subtle and quite distinct scent. The floral aromas sort of blend to give a light fresh floral sweet sort of scent I can’t actually detect the individual scents not even the tea tree oil which is usually quite strong. I don’t think that you would buy this cream just for its scent but it is a really nice cream that also smells pleasant so that is a bonus from my point of view.

My pot of Dream Cream

My pot of Dream Cream

This comes in a 240ml pot for £10.95 so one of Lush’s more expensive creams but not the most expensive by a long way. On line it seems you cannot get the smaller pot but I’m not sure if you can in the shop as I am still using my pot that I have had for some time now and as it is getting near its end I thought that I had better write my review before it has disappeared. I have a few other pots so it might be a while before I buy another pot.

Luckily I have a small pot in my Lush legends box so I am set again for a little while.

Summary: 

This is a nice gentle and soft cream with a pleasant fresh scent . I think like other creams by Lush that this is a pretty luxurious quality cream and suitable for all kinds of skin including those with minor dry patches or sensitive skin. I love this cream and it is one that I usually have in my cupboard as Ifind it is an excellent moisturising cream which can be used all over my body even when I am suffering from itchy, eczematic skin.

 

Leave a Reply

